Table of contents
Have you already read the article “The rules of the game on Facebook”? There you will find important information on how to use Facebook.
Reasons For Deleting Facebook Profiles
Some users of Facebook decide at some point to delete their account. Some think it’s a waste of time. Others don’t think it’s “cool” anymore. Maybe your parents don’t allow you to use Facebook anymore. Or you worry about others knowing too much about you. If you’ve decided to delete your Facebook account, you’re not alone. Every day, people delete their accounts on Facebook. You can read more about how this works below in this article. Because deleting your account is not easy, you should ask an adult for advice.
By the way, do you know the term “account”? It is the English term for “account”.
How To Delete Your Facebook Profile Permanently
The following instructions explain step by step how to delete your account delete your account. But beware: once your account is deleted, you will never be able to use it again. If you are not sure, you can deactivate your profile instead of deleting it. You can read how to do that further down in this article. However, if you are sure that you want to delete your account forever, then this guide will apply to you:
Step 1 – Registration.
First of all, log in to Facebook as usual. Enter your email address and password.
Step 2 – Help menu.
In the upper right corner of the screen you will find a small arrow. If you hover your mouse over it, the “Help” menu will open. Click on the link “Visit the help section”. A Link is a link to another page. You can usually recognize links by the blue, underlined words. You will find the link relatively far down on the left side of the menu.
Step 3 – The overview page.
Now a new page should appear. On the left you will see a Navigation bar. This is a column with many links to other pages. Click here on “How to delete my account permanently”.
Step 4 – “Tell us”.
At the end of the second paragraph in the text, you will now see another link: “tell us”. Click on it. After that you need to click on “Delete my account”.
Step 5 – The most important step.
After you click on “Delete my account” you have to wait two weeks. Only then will your account be permanently removed. During this time, you should not log in to Facebook once. To be on the safe side, do not go back to the Facebook page for two to three weeks.
If you follow these instructions and everything works out, your account will be permanently deleted after two weeks. This means that your Facebook page can no longer be found via the search bar.
How To Deactivate Your Account
If you simply don’t feel like using Facebook anymore, you can delete your account deactivate. This means that no one can see your Facebook page anymore. If someone searches for you, they won’t find you. However, if you want, you can reactivate your account at any time.
To deactivate your account, log in to Facebook. Then click on the small arrow in the upper right corner. There you select the item “Settings”. On the bottom left, you will now see the item “Security”. At the bottom, you will see a small blue link called “Deactivate your account”. Click on it. Now you have to confirm your decision with a click. If you want, you can enter a reason for the deactivation. Your account will no longer be visible until you reactivate it.
Worksheet for the text
1) Explain the difficult words from the text.
2) Why do people delete their Facebook profiles? What are the reasons? Write down what you remembered here.
3) Turn to the person sitting next to you. Explain the following to each other:
What is the difference between deleting and deactivating?
Photo: EMIL IMARIETLI / bigstockphoto.com